Free online store builders: what each free plan really lets you sell
Only a few free online store builders let you take real, paid orders without paying a plan: Big Cartel (5 products), Square Online's free plan (in the countries where Square works, with a higher card fee), Payhip (5% of every sale) and Ginta (25 products per website, card payments through your own Stripe). Wix's free plan builds a store that can't sell, Ecwid has no free plan for new accounts, and Shopify and Squarespace only have trials. Etsy and WooCommerce cost nothing a month but charge in other ways. Card fees apply everywhere.
We make Ginta. Every other fact below comes from the builder's own pages, linked, checked on 8 November 2026. Some pages show prices for the visitor's country; ours were opened from Lithuania.
The free plans side by side
| What "free" means | Takes paid orders on free? | Products on free | Own domain on free | Cost per sale on free | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big Cartel (Gold) | Free for good, no card needed | Yes: cards and PayPal | 5, one photo each | No | 0% + Stripe or PayPal fees |
| Square Online (Square Free, US) | $0 a month | Yes | Not stated | No | 3.3% + 30¢ per online card payment |
| Payhip (Free Forever) | $0 a month | Yes, physical goods too | Not stated | Its features page says yes | 5% + Stripe or PayPal fees |
| Ginta (Free, ours) | €0, the whole Shop | Yes: cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay through your Stripe | 25 per website | No (name.ginta.page) |
0% + Stripe's card fee |
| Etsy | No monthly fee | Yes, inside Etsy | Pay $0.20 per listing | Not your own website | 6.5% + payment processing |
| WooCommerce | Free plugin, paid hosting | Yes, once hosted | Not stated | Depends on your host | 0% + your payment provider |
| Wix (Free) | Free website | No | — | No | — |
| Ecwid | No free plan for new accounts | Starter $5 a month | 10 on Starter | No (from Venture) | 0% + your payment provider |
| Shopify | 3-day trial, then €1 a month for 3 months | Only on a paid plan | Unlimited when paid | Paid plans | 1.8% + €0.25 (Basic, Shopify Payments) |
| Squarespace | 14-day trial | Only on a paid plan | Unlimited when paid | Paid plans | 2% on Basic + card fees |
Sources (checked 8 November 2026): Big Cartel Gold, Big Cartel plan comparison (25 February 2025), Big Cartel premium plans, Square plans, Payhip pricing and features, Etsy fee basics, WooCommerce pricing, Wix: upgrading Wix Stores, Ecwid pricing, Shopify pricing, Squarespace pricing.
The four that really sell for free
Big Cartel Gold: free, but five products
Big Cartel's free plan needs no card, takes cards and PayPal, allows size and colour variants and takes 0% of each sale. It holds 5 products with one photo each and one template, with no discounts, stock tracking or own domain; those start at Platinum, $15 a month. Good for a first drop or a handful of prints. Side by side with Ginta: Ginta vs Big Cartel.
Square Free: good if you already use Square
Square Free costs $0 a month and includes pickup, local delivery and shipping label printing. Online card payments cost 3.3% + 30¢ on Free (2.9% + 30¢ on paid plans), there's no own domain, and abandoned cart emails, bundles and product reviews start on Plus (Square plans). Square processes cards only in eight countries: the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, the UK, Ireland, France and Spain (Square help). More: Ginta vs Square Online.
Payhip Free Forever: every feature, 5% of every sale
Payhip is best known for digital products, but its features page says it sells physical goods with stock, orders and shipping too. The free plan costs $0 a month plus 5% of each sale, on top of Stripe's or PayPal's own fees; Plus is $29 a month with 2%, Pro $99 with no Payhip fee (Payhip pricing).
Ginta Free: a website with the whole Shop
This is ours. Ginta's free plan includes every Shop feature, not a cut-down version: product pages, sizes and colours
(a product with options counts once), discount codes and automatic discounts,
gift cards, delivery by weight, pickup with time slots,
receipts and a Sales view. Up to 25 products per website, at a name.ginta.page address with a small
"Made with Ginta" badge. Buyers pay on Stripe's checkout into your own Stripe account; Ginta takes 0%.
More on Ginta Commerce.

What it can't do: digital downloads, subscriptions, PayPal, more than one currency, a point of sale, or an own domain on Free. An own domain and no badge start at €5 a month (Hosting, if you build with your own Claude or ChatGPT) or €19 a month on Light with Ginta's AI (pricing).
Free in name only
- Wix: you can build a whole store on the free plan, but "before customers can place orders, you need to upgrade" to a plan that takes payments, Core or higher (Wix help).
- Ecwid: new accounts choose between four paid plans; the free plan is only for Wix users who add Ecwid from Wix, with up to 5 products (Ecwid help).
- Shopify and Squarespace: trials, then a monthly plan. Shopify's cheap start lasts three months; Squarespace says it "doesn't offer a free plan".
Free, but not cheap per sale
Etsy has no monthly fee, but charges $0.20 per listing (a listing lasts 4 months), 6.5% of each order including shipping, and payment processing on top: 3% + $0.25 in the US, 4% + €0.30 in Lithuania, 4% + £0.20 in the UK (Etsy payment processing fees). What you get for it is buyers who are already searching.
WooCommerce is free software, but you need hosting: Woo's own estimate is "$25 – $350/month for most stores", plus paid extensions for things like gift cards or subscriptions.
What is never free
- Card fees. Whoever takes the payment charges for it. Stripe's standard rates are 1.5% + €0.25 for a standard EEA card in the euro area, 1.5% + 20p for a standard UK card and 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card (Stripe Ireland, Stripe UK, Stripe US).
- Your own domain. None of the free plans above include one.
- Your time and photos. Good photos of your own products matter more than the platform.
How to pick
- Fewer than 5 products and fine with a Big Cartel address: Big Cartel Gold.
- You already take payments with Square in person: Square Free.
- Mostly digital products: Payhip (or Gumroad, which we didn't compare here).
- A real website for your business with a shop in it, up to 25 products: Ginta Free.
- You want buyers who are already searching: Etsy, ideally next to a shop of your own.
When you outgrow a free plan, the next step is usually small. Our Shopify alternatives post compares the paid plans.
Questions
Can I really sell online for free?
Yes. Big Cartel Gold, Square Free, Payhip's free plan and Ginta's free plan all take paid orders without a monthly fee. You always pay a card fee on each sale, and Payhip also takes 5%.
Which free online store builder lets me use my own domain?
Of the ones we checked, only Payhip says so: its features page says you can connect a custom domain, and the FAQ on its pricing page explains why all its plans have the same features. Big Cartel, Square, Ecwid and Ginta keep your own domain for paid plans.
Is the Wix free plan enough for an online store?
Not for selling. Wix's help centre says you need a plan that accepts payments before customers can place orders; its plans page lists payments from Core.
What's the best free online store for a small business?
It depends on what you sell. For a few items, Big Cartel; for a shop inside a proper website with delivery, pickup times and discounts, Ginta; for in-person sellers in Square's countries, Square. If your buyers live on Etsy, keep Etsy too.
Written with AI help for Ginta, which Povilas runs; he also teaches a website-building course. The screenshots are from the real Ginta on the date above, and prices come from our pricing page.